An Old Testament Timeline

Last week I started leading small class in a series looking at the book of Nehemiah.  I decided to put Nehemiah in historical context with a brief Old Testament timeline.  The following image is one I developed many years ago.  The high and low points are to illustrate times of God’s blessing, or times of judgement/when things were not going so well for the Israelites.  For example, there is a low point after creation not because Noah was a bad person, but because the Flood was an act of God’s judgement on the world.

You may notice that the timeline has no women in it (apart from Eve); that’s because I usually have a list of women which I read out and have the class tell me where each woman fits in the timeline.  It’s just a way to bring in some group participation, so I do not do all the talking.  I hope you enjoy it.

old testament timeline

 

 

Some women in the Old Testament (in alphabetical order):

Bathsheba

Deborah

Delilah

Esther

Jephtah’s daughter

Jezebel

Rachel

Rahab

Rebecca

Ruth

The Queen of Sheba

Tamar